fbpx

The Unwinder is reader-supported, meaning we may earn an affiliate commission if you buy through a link from our site.

BodyReviews

Read Our Reviews Of The Best Elliptical Under $500

Best Elliptical Under $500 At A Glance

Sunny Health & Fitness Pre-Programmed Elliptical Trainer Machine Magnetic

Best Elliptical Under $500

Sunny Health & Fitness Pre-Programmed Elliptical Trainer Machine Magnetic

This elliptical comes with 24 unique workout modes, 16 resistance levels, and a 330lb weight capacity.

Sunny Health & Fitness Carbon Pro Elliptical Machine Magnetic Resistance Trainer

Runner-Up For Best Elliptical Under $500

Sunny Health & Fitness Carbon Pro Elliptical Machine Magnetic Resistance Trainer

This elliptical has 10 resistance levels, a weight capacity of 265 lbs, and a 16’’ stride length

SNODE Elliptical Machine

Has Bluetooth Compatibility

SNODE Elliptical Machine

SNODE allows you to easily track your progress by syncing your devices with your online fitness data. This elliptical machine has 16 resistance levels, 12 motion programs, and a weight capacity of 265lbs.

Editor’s note 5/28/22: This item is currently out of stock. We will update this review as soon as it becomes available.

Fitness Reality E5500XL Magnetic Elliptical Trainer

Affordable Elliptical With Great Features

Fitness Reality E5500XL Magnetic Elliptical Trainer

This machine features 24 levels of resistance, 21 workout programs, and a weight capacity of 270 lbs.

Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Elliptical Bike - 2 In 1 Elliptical Upright Bike

Best 2-In-1 Elliptical And Bike Under $500

Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Elliptical Bike – 2 In 1 Elliptical Upright Bike

This 2-in-1 machine comes with 8 resistance levels and a 240 lb weight capacity.

Pairs With MyCloudFitness App

Exerpeutic Magnetic Flywheel Elliptical Trainer

This elliptical has Bluetooth compatibility and allows you to pair with the MyCloudFitness app to track your workouts and view activity reports.

Super Affordable And Has Amazing Range Of Motion

Gazelle GEDGECAT Edge Glider

This equipment has an incredible range of motion and lets you go from a slow walk to a full run with no sudden stops.

Body Champ 3-in-1 Trio-Trainer Workout Machine

Best 3-In-1 Exercise Machine

Body Champ 3-in-1 Trio-Trainer Workout Machine

This machine is an all-in-one elliptical trainer, recumbent bike, and upright bike.

Affordable 3-In-1 Exercise Machine

Body Power 3-in-1 Home Gym

Want a 3-in-1 cardio machine that’s more affordable than most options? This machine is nearly $100 less than its competitors.

When it comes to home gym equipment, cardio machines get a lot of attention. While treadmills are generally the most popular choice, some people prefer a machine that allows them to train their entire body and choose to go with an elliptical instead.

Many high-end ellipticals have extra features, but good quality does not always equate to a hefty price tag. After thorough research, we determined that the Pre-Programmed Elliptical Trainer Machine by Sunny & Health Fitness is the best elliptical under $500 due to features including a high weight capacity, advanced performance monitoring,  and numerous options for resistance levels and training programs.

However, there are other notable ellipticals worth considering in your search due to their affordability and other unique features, like Bluetooth connectivity or being a 2 in 1 machine. Here, I’ll review the 5 best ellipticals under $500 and help you decide which product is best for your intended health goals and price range.

How We Found The Best Elliptical Under $500

While many people want to train at home on an elliptical, most are not willing to spend more than $500 on one. However, choosing an elliptical under $500 may come with several drawbacks which usually include having a lower weight capacity (typically less than 250 pounds), fewer training programs, less advanced performance tracking monitors, and a shorter stride length. 

However, there are some brands that offer exactly what you need, despite having a lower price tag. To ensure that your $500 is well spent, we included as many ellipticals as possible in this review that met the following criteria:

  • Multiple training programs and resistance levels: All but one of the products on our list come with pre-programmed training options and adjustable resistance. Our top recommendations have as many as 24 programs and resistance levels, with most having at least 10.
  • LCD screen: Each product tracks critical training parameters including time, speed, and calories burned.
  • Pulse sensors and easy-to-access control buttons: The majority of options on our list have pulse sensors that monitor your condition and allow you to decide whether or not to continue training. Additionally, the accessibility of elliptical control buttons adds to the convenience of training and reduces any unnecessary interruptions.
  • Weight capacity of at least 240 lbs: All machines come with a weight capacity of at least 240 lbs, with most supporting 260 lbs and a few that support 300 lbs +.
  • Good warranty: While most options have a structural frame warranty of at least three years and a parts warranty or replacement of at least six months, all are covered by some form of a warranty.

In addition to the criteria above, we are extremely cautious when reviewing Amazon products because we have occasionally encountered fake and subpar products on the platform, some of which received high reviews.

As a result, we use ReviewMeta to validate all Amazon products that we recommend. It is a website that scans product reviews to verify their credibility and detect any suspicious activities such as fake accounts and spam reviews. You can learn more about ReviewMeta and how we review products here.

Benefits Of Ellipticals 

Elliptical training benefits three main aspects of the body: joint stability, muscle growth, and endurance.

  • A comparison study published in ScienceDirect found that Elliptical training increased quadriceps activity and quadriceps/hamstrings coactivation for joint stability than stationary cycling, treadmill walking, and overground walking.
  • A comparative study published in the National Library of Medicine shows that the elliptical has higher muscle activation patterns and greater lumbar flexion and lumbar rotation than regular walking.
  • A research study from Precor discovered that the heart rate and oxygen consumption on elliptical training were identical to running on the treadmill but with less impact force. 

Our Reviews Of The Best Elliptical Under $500

Sunny Health & Fitness Pre-Programmed Elliptical Trainer Machine Magnetic

Best Elliptical Under $500

Sunny Health & Fitness Pre-Programmed Elliptical Trainer Machine Magnetic

  • Programs: 24 options
  • Resistance: 16 levels
  • Weight Capacity: 330 lbs
  • Stride: 15.5″
  • Dimensions: 55″ L X 23″ W X 64.5″ H
  • Weight: 104.8 lbs
  • Warranty: 3-year frame, 180-day parts

Sunny Health & Fitness Elliptical Trainer Machine has a monitoring system and sensors that accurately track your performance and condition, allowing you to know your progress during each training. It comes with 16 resistance levels for effective muscle training.

It’s super easy to set up—no need for lengthy manuals or tutorial videos. You only need to set the resistance level on the monitor, and you’re ready to go.

This elliptical also has a handy bottle holder located beneath the monitor for easy access in terms of structural features and comes with pedals that have a non-slip texture to ensure steady footing during strenuous workouts.

Finally, the machine has one of the strongest floor stabilizers which prevents tipping, rocking, and swaying on uneven surfaces and it has a whopping 330lb maximum user weight capacity.

We highly recommend Sunny Health & Fitness Elliptical Machine because it comes with a warranty and money-back guarantee, so be sure to check it out.

Amazon Rating: 4.2/5.0 based on 2,746 ratings

Featured Review: “Both my wife and I have been using this thing every day for about 3 months. It’s easy to use and comfortable (I’m 6 feet tall so if you were concerned about the stride length it isn’t a problem for me). I have had absolutely no issues with it.” – J. Sheldon, May 18, 2020

Features

  • Plenty of programs and resistance levels
  • Relatively compact
  • High weight capacity

But be aware of…

  • Stride isn’t very long
  • Not as light as other options
  • Right under $500 (before tax)

Sunny Health & Fitness Carbon Pro Elliptical Machine Magnetic Resistance Trainer

Runner-Up For Best Elliptical Under $500

Sunny Health & Fitness Carbon Pro Elliptical Machine Magnetic Resistance Trainer

  • Programs: Unspecified
  • Resistance: 10 levels
  • Weight Capacity: 265 lbs
  • Stride: 16″
  • Dimensions: 69.3″ L X 28.7″ W X 64.8″ H
  • Weight: 95.5 lbs
  • Warranty: 3-year frame, 180-day parts

The Carbon Pro Elliptical Machine is ideal for low impact endurance suitable for people of all fitness levels. It has 10 levels of magnetic resistance and can accommodate your needs whether you’re doing recovery training or trying to lose weight.

Its performance monitor also tracks your time, distance, calories, pulse, and RPM, which is not unique, but it is undoubtedly helpful in monitoring your progress.

The stride length is 16 inches long, allowing for uninterrupted whole-body exercise with a 265lb maximum user weight capacity. Floor stabilizers are also attached to the bottom of the unit to ensure a smooth training session.

This machine is for you if you want a programmable traditional design structure. Nonetheless, we know that this elliptical is a reliable training machine that can help you reach your fitness goals.

Amazon Rating: 4.2/5.0 based on 6 ratings

Featured Review: “The Sunny elliptical was the perfect addition to my home gym. It feels solid and stable, close to the quality of much more expensive models in health clubs.” – John M., January 30, 2021

Features

  • Features full-motion exercisers
  • Has pulse sensors
  • Good weight capacity

But be aware of…

  • Fewer options for resistance
  • Small performance monitor
  • Right under $500 (before tax)

SNODE Elliptical Machine

Has Bluetooth Compatibility

SNODE Elliptical Machine

  • Programs: 12
  • Resistance: 16 levels
  • Weight Capacity: 265 lbs
  • Stride: 13.78″
  • Dimensions: 47″ L X 24″ W X 61″ H
  • Weight: 88.2 lbs
  • Warranty: 2-year

SNODE Elliptical Machine is a pioneer in Bluetooth functionality with its iConsole APP for Android and IOS devices. It enables you to easily track your progress by syncing your devices with your online fitness data.

They also provide additional features and programs that you can use in your training routine. Like Sunny Health and Fitness, SNODE’s console displays time, distance, speed, pulse, and calories – the Bluetooth connection makes it more convenient.

The elliptical machine has 16 resistance levels and 12 motion programs for varying intensities and body shaping efficiency. It also has a maximum weight capacity of 265lbs.

Unlike traditional machines, which require you to adjust the resistance manually, this machine has an automatic magnetic resistance that can only be adjusted from the console.

We recommend this product for those who want to track their progress over time. The only challenging part for first-time buyers is assembling it because you’ll be referring to their online instruction video. But once the assembly is complete, you’re in for a fantastic training experience.

You can also find replacement and installation guides on their YouTube channel.

Amazon Rating: 3.8/5.0 based on 264 ratings

Featured Review: “During our shelter in place, the SNODE E20i Elliptical Machine was just what I needed to work in some cardio. It took me only an hour to assemble, and it’s compact which is perfect since space is limited for me. It felt sturdy, extremely quiet, and got my heart pumping. There is even a place for me to place my tablet securely with a USB port to keep it charged.” – Mke, December 3, 2020

Editor’s note 5/28/22: This item is currently out of stock. We will update this review as soon as it becomes available.

Features

  • Features Bluetooth connectivity
  • Compact
  • Lightweight

But be aware of…

  • Short stride length
  • Small performance monitor
  • Fewer programs than other options

Fitness Reality E5500XL Magnetic Elliptical Trainer

Affordable Elliptical With Great Features

Fitness Reality E5500XL Magnetic Elliptical Trainer

  • Programs: 21
  • Resistance: 24 levels
  • Weight Capacity: 270 lbs
  • Stride: 18″
  • Dimensions: 57.5″ L X 24″ W X 66″ H
  • Weight: 93 lbs
  • Warranty: 1-year limited

Fitness Reality Elliptical Trainer has the highest magnetic tension resistance on our list, with 24 levels. It includes 21 computer-preset workout programs and a monitor tracker for distance, time, RPM, and calories burned.

Its double transmission system will also entice you because it increases the machine’s momentum while maintaining a smooth striding motion.

With its current price, this machine’s technical and structural advantages appear unbelievable, but we guarantee that it lives up to its name. Although some of its features are similar to those of other ellipticals, Fitness Reality may be the best choice for affordability and resistance levels.

Amazon Rating: 4.1/5.0 based on 478 ratings

Featured Review: “The machine is great. Super sturdy and not a noise to be heard. I weigh 180 and am 6′ tall. The machine fits me perfectly. Exactly what I was looking for and for the price, it can’t be beaten.” – Tom, July 19, 2021

Features

  • Plenty of programs and resistance levels
  • Good stride length
  • Good weight capacity

But be aware of…

  • Pedals are a bit slim
  • Display has small text
  • Warranty isn’t as good as other options

Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Elliptical Bike - 2 In 1 Elliptical Upright Bike

Best 2-In-1 Elliptical And Bike Under $500

Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Elliptical Bike – 2 In 1 Elliptical Upright Bike

  • Programs: Unspecified
  • Resistance: 8 levels
  • Weight Capacity: 240 lbs
  • Stride: 12.5″
  • Dimensions: 45″ L X 22.5″ W X 59″ H
  • Weight: 64.5 lbs
  • Warranty: 3-year frame, 180-day parts

The 2-in-1 Elliptical Upright Bike combines two cardiovascular training machines, allowing for an effective low-impact workout and muscle building. During your training, you will have the option of using standard bike pedals or non-slip pedals. It also has an adjustable cushioned seat for maximizing your workouts while avoiding back strain or injuries.

Unlike automatic ellipticals, the machine requires manual adjustment for its eight levels of magnetic resistance. It is advantageous because it is easily accessible, as you will not need to open the tracking monitor to change the resistance.

We are confident in the capability of this product, knowing that it is also reasonably priced.

Amazon Rating: 4.0/5.0 based on 44 ratings

Featured Review: “I was looking for an elliptical, but our workout space has low ceilings, so it was challenging to find one that would work. This one fit the bill! It’s very well made and the stride length makes it perfect for our space. You’ll get a great workout and it’s also nice to have the option to use it as a stationary bike.” – Bronx Brenda NYC, July 25, 2021

Features

  • Affordable compared to other options
  • 2-in-1 machine
  • Lightweight

But be aware of…

  • Short stride length
  • Few resistance options
  • Small performance monitor screen

Pairs With MyCloudFitness App

Exerpeutic Magnetic Flywheel Elliptical Trainer

  • Programs: 24 options
  • Resistance: 16 levels
  • Weight Capacity: 275 lbs
  • Stride: 13″
  • Dimensions: 53″ L X 25″ W X 63″ H
  • Weight: 81.6 lbs
  • Warranty: 1-year limited

This elliptical has Bluetooth compatibility and is able to pair with the MyCloudFitness app to track your workouts and view activity reports. The app provides training stats in real-time and you can track parameters including steps, distance, calories, and speed.

Its LCD screen allows you to program up to 2 users and has 24 training programs and 16 levels of resistance.

Additionally, its high torque cranking system provides a smooth and consistent pedaling motion and its precision-balanced flywheel and V- belt drive create a quiet ride.

Amazon Rating: 4.1/5.0 based on 80 ratings

Featured Review: “This elliptical is easy to put together, easy to use, and convenient! I love that there are different programs to satisfy your motivation!” – Richie Gulley, March 26, 2022

Features

  • Plenty of programs and resistance
  • Bluetooth compatible
  • Lightweight and compact

But be aware of…

  • Short stride length
  • Not the best warranty
  • Small performance monitor screen

Super Affordable And Has Amazing Range Of Motion

Gazelle GEDGECAT Edge Glider

  • Programs: N/A
  • Resistance: N/A
  • Weight Capacity: 250 lbs
  • Stride: Unspecified
  • Dimensions: 43″ L X 28″ W X 53.75″ H
  • Weight: 45 lbs
  • Warranty: 1-year

If you’re all about saving money and don’t mind the basics, then the Gazelle GEDGECAT Edge Glider will do the job!

This manually-powered piece of equipment has an incredible range of motion and lets you go from a slow walk to a full run with no sudden stops.

It features dual-action split suspension which provides a complete range of motion, extra-wide and non-skid foot platforms, and high-density foam handlebars.

It also comes with a 5-function workout computer that tracks speed, distance, time, and calories burned.

Amazon Rating: 4.5/5.0 based on 3,921 ratings

Featured Review: “So fun, comfortable, and effective! No pain or impact on joints! I had a grin ear to ear when I first stepped up on this well-made machine. It really is a blast to use!” – Brook V., October 1, 2020

Features

  • Huge range of motion
  • Very affordable
  • Lightweight and compact

But be aware of…

  • No program options
  • Can’t adjust the resistance
  • Small screen

Body Champ 3-in-1 Trio-Trainer Workout Machine

Best 3-In-1 Exercise Machine

Body Champ 3-In-1 Trio-Trainer Workout Machine

  • Resistance – Adjustable; number of levels unspecified
  • Stride Length – 12″
  • Weight Capacity – Unspecified
  • Dimensions – 62″ L X 25″ W X 55″ H
  • Weight – 79.8 lbs
  • Warranty – 1-year frame, 90-day parts
  • Special Features – 17+ training programs, hand pulse sensors

This machine consists of an elliptical trainer, a recumbent bike, and an upright bike, providing a wide variety of workout options with hassle-free transitions – no pedal adjustment needed.

It has an advanced computer system with more than 17 training programs and preset options to help you start your fitness journey. It also features 6 handlebars, each containing a hand pulse sensor that can easily be gripped during training.

Amazon Rating: 3.9/5.0 based on 171 ratings

Featured Review: “We have a small home gym and we added this exercise machine a few weeks ago. To our surprise, the touch and feel, engineered design, and use of material are better than similar machines we have seen in local sporting goods stores at a few hundred dollars more.” – A. Tang, June 27, 2015

Features

  • Pulse sensors
  • 3-in-1 machine
  • Plenty of training programs

But be aware of…

  • Short stride length
  • Not the best warranty
  • Fewer resistance options

Affordable 3-In-1 Exercise Machine

Body Power 3-in-1 Home Gym

  • Resistance – Adjustable; number of levels unspecified
  • Stride Length – 13″
  • Weight Capacity – 300 lbs
  • Dimensions – 63″ L X 25″ W X 55″ H
  • Weight – 90 lbs
  • Warranty – 1-year frame, 90-day parts
  • Special Features – Advanced flywheel system, 3 different sets of integrated handlebars, center console

Want a 3-in-1 cardio machine that’s more affordable than most options? This machine is nearly $100 less than its competitors.

This machine serves as an elliptical trainer, upright stationary cycle, and a recumbent bike and has an advanced flywheel system that allows it to run quietly with continuous resistance-level adjustment.

It comes with 3 different sets of integrated handlebars to choose from and also has a center console to keep track of parameters like time, speed, distance, pulse, and calories.

Amazon Rating: 4.1/5.0 based on 1,135 ratings

Featured Review: “I have owned and used various ellipticals and stationary bikes over the years. If you are looking to not spend a lot and get both of those machines in one, buy this one. I have had it for a month now. It gets used almost daily by my son and I.” – Yogann, December 15, 2020

Features

  • 3-in-1 machine
  • High weight capacity
  • 3 sets of handlebars

But be aware of…

  • Short stride length
  • Not the best warranty
  • Fewer resistance options

Looking for more options? Read our article on the best ellipticals under $1,000.


Editor’s note: we are regularly updating this review. If you see any problems, weird interpretations of the data, or just want to say hi, please reach out to hello@the-unwinder.com.

Photo by ShotPot from Pexels

About the author

Vella is a freelance content writer specializing in health and wellness, fitness, lifestyle, and CBD, among others. She worked as a journalist for a radio station before venturing into freelance writing. In her free time, she travels and explores nature and beaches. She can be reached via email at vellagonzaga@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.